Month: May 2008

  • So Sorry.........

    I am so sorry that I have been so lacks in posting......but I do have good excuses.  My daughter-in-law had surgery for a double umbilical hernias last week  and I have been babysitting the grandchildren and traveling between  my town and theirs.  It does not help that they have shut down the main bridge and are rerouting traffic onto their main road that has the secondary bridge.  Traffic can get really hairy certain times of the day.  It has also given me extra time with the grandchildren and finding out that Grammie is not the same as Mom.  So far, they have been testing their limits with me and I have confused them by not responding in the manner that they were expecting.  So far......I am maintaining the lead as an adult with authority.  I am fair so they have accepted that the problems I have had with them is not personal but is directly related to their behavior.  I have gotten to spend some quality time with Neko too where we just take turns laughing at each other.  That baby has the most infective laughter I have ever heard.  He gets so tickled that he gets the hiccups.  Trish is really having a hard time that she can not hold him yet since  she can not pick up his weight due to the surgery and her surgery site is extremely tender to be touched.  He is loving his Grammie though since I am such a sucker for when he cries.  He usually cries when he is hungry but lately he has started to cry if I leave his area unless I give him a bottle first.  You can see where he places his priorities......Grammie vs Food/Bottle.  Food/Bottle always wins first place.   Adrianna is my right hand girl too.  Not that she is an angel by any means......but she is trying to please even though she has tried her hand at testing me too.  Damien......well he is like the girl with the curl.....when he is good, he is very good and when he is bad, he is very bad.  It is sort of hard on them now that Trish is home since now they have a Mom and a Spare.  Two sets of Mother's eyes to observe them and slightly different ways of dealing with things.  I try to make sure I reenforce the limits Trish places on them but still maintain my own Grammie authority on how they relate with me.  I give them options....the easy way or the hard way.  Smart children that they are, they try to negotiate a third option.  It is amusing to watch their little faces try to find a way around your decisions since I know that at any time I can play the "Because I Told You To" card to end the negotiations/discussion.  I am so glad that I am not a child but the adult.  I am also glad that I can remember how I thought and felt when I was a child since it makes it so much easier to handle things that crop up unexpectily.  Well....I need to stop and gets some sleep so that, maybe, I will catch up to myself.

  • Joy.......Oh, Joy!!

    My Husband just had a new playground delivered today.  Nothing like having a new kingsized bed to play on...... a moment to remember and then to indulge in a few future fantasies.  Life is sweet.  I just love him so much and every day since we renewed our vows ......he just gets sweeter (except when he gets on my nerves.....after all, we are real people not characters in a story or fairytale) and more protective of me.  I like that in a Husband, especially in MY Husband.  I am thinking of waking him again but then again.....tomorrow will come soon enough, and he is tired.  I think I will let my sweetie sleep instead and just snuggle up to him and share his warmth.  It is still cold here in New York which makes for some excellent snuggling.